Joshua’s Law (also known as House Bill 466) was amended to make driver education mandatory for all 16 – 17-year-olds to be able to get a Georgia driver’s license. Prior to the change, it was only required for 16-year-olds. Drivers aged 17 were initially exempt from the 30 hours of Drivers Ed instruction and 6-hours of behind the wheel driving lessons. As of today, 16 – 17-year olds must complete an approved driver education course with a certified private or public driver trainer.
Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver’s education course must be at least 15 years old to enroll. He or she must have completed a total of at least 30 hours of classroom instruction or online instruction from a DDS certified school or curriculum, and a minimum of 6 hours behind the wheel driving lessons. This is commonly referred to as 30/6.